New skilled migration list for Western Australia

by Ray Clancy on October 4, 2013

in Australia, Australia Immigration, General Information

Western Australia, one of the most booming regions of the country and popular with overseas workers, is reviewing its skilled migration occupation list.

The new list is expected in October with officials stressing that while the review is under way the current 2012/2013 list is still active for those applying for visas and there will be at least 15 days’ notice of the new 2013/2014 list before it becomes operational.

australia directionThe Department of Training and Workforce Development said it hopes to release the Western Australian Skilled Migration Occupation List (WASMOL) for 2013/2014 soon. The list is important because to be invited to apply for State nomination you need an occupation on the current WASMOL.

‘The criteria for State nomination are currently under review. The 2012/2013 criteria will remain in effect until further notice. Notification will be provided on the migration portal at least 15 business days prior to implementation of the new criteria,’ said a spokesman.

Officials are also reminding overseas visa applicants that the State sponsorship process has changed and Skilled Migration Western Australia at the Department of Training and Workforce Development no longer accepts direct applications for State sponsorship.

Eligible applicants are now invited to apply through the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) SkillSelect system. This means submitting an expression of interest to the Department of Immigration and Citizenship through the SkillSelect database.

The Department of Training and Workforce Development then selects applicants from SkillSelect and offers an invitation to apply for State nomination. If invited to apply, applicants will be given a unique identifier to submit an application to the Department of Training and Workforce Development.

There is also a specific visa for people wanting to work in regional Australia under the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (subclass 187). This visa is for skilled workers from outside Australia or skilled temporary residents who live and work in regional Australia. It has three streams.

The Temporary Residence Transition stream is for subclass 457 visa holders who have worked for two years and their employer wants to offer them a permanent position; the Direct Entry stream is for people who have never, or only briefly, worked in the Australian labour market; and the Agreements stream is for people sponsored by an employer through a labour or regional migration agreement.

People can apply for this visa if they want to live and work in regional Australia, meaning not in the Gold Coast, Brisbane, Newcastle, Sydney, Wollongong and Melbourne, or have been nominated by an approved Australian employer located in regional Australia.

Like all visa streams there are restrictions and applicants must be under 50 years of age and meet the skills, qualifications and English language requirements.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: