Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've been living in Australia/ Melbourne since April 2009. My spouse came here on work..457 and so I'm here on the same Visa. We hv 2 children.

Qs 1: Can I apply for the 176 Visa at all, as I have come here on my husband's 457?

I noticed tht The Vic State sponsorship visa skills list, has my skill on it.
I seem to qualify for all the points, but for one hitch, I have over 7 years of relevant experience & relevant qualifications, but haven't worked for the past 3 years. I do hv valid reasons for ths break..I had 2 children and chose to tend to them.

Qs 2:So am I be eligible to apply? My total score on DIAC site is comin to 115 and for the sponsorship only 100 pts is enough.

Qs 3: Is there any other point we need to specially care for, before lodging the application?

Qs 4: How long will this entire process take and what cud be the costs?
-
Cheers!
R

·
Registered
59 Posts
Hi there,

I am also in the process of applying for a 176 visa. I've done a lot of research, and read that you need to have been working in the occupation you mention on your application for at least 12 of the latest 24 months (at the time of application). So as far as I know, you can't apply for the visa.
Double check with other people though.

Denise

·
Registered
7,467 Posts
I have not checked what the Vic. Government sponsorship eligibility requirements are but they do closely follow that of Immi and it is unfortunate in your case that there is a basic requirement with skilled visas for the recent experience Tigris mentions, the detail @ Skilled - Sponsored (Migrant) Visa (Subclass 176)
I am not aware of there being any waiver for that but given both state and federal governments are always keen to get skilled people back into the workforce after absences and if you have an occupation in some demand, making an enquiry with Immi for starters would not hurt.