Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone

I'm a teacher from the UK here on a sub-class 500 student visa. I put through an expression of interest for a 189 visa back in 2015 and had it rejected because my teaching qualifications are in the secondary sector but my recent experience is teaching in the junior sector. I have since put through an expression of interest for state nomination (489) on the back of my PhD at Notre Dame which is nearly completed. I had it accepted; however, it requires a contract of employment in the area of teaching I stipulated on the application. I.e. secondary. As the job is in the junior sector, immigration told me yesterday that it would render the visa application obsolete. Does anyone know which visa is better - 189 or 489 for me to apply for and have a higher chance of being accepted?

THANK YOU :)

·
Registered
6,225 Posts
There is no such thing as an 'obsolete' application.

It might pay you to consult a registered migration agent to advice about your possible strategies.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Okay, thank you. Both visas are the same price but the 489 is only for up to 4 years. I'd rather spend my money on a permanent visa if possible but if I have more chance of getting the 489 I'll try that. I've seen a migration expert before who told me to go for the 189 and then had it rejected as my most recent experience was in the junior sector, with my qualifications in the senior. Perhaps I was just unlucky with the agent I got at immigration.

Thanks again
Steph

·
Registered
774 Posts