Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I am an Australian permanent resident and originally from Afghanistan. I have sponsored my wife and four children through 309/100 visa offshore through Consulate General in Dubai.

It has been more than 6 months now that I have not heard back from the Immigration department. Me and my wife tried to submit all supporting documents, so hopefully it is not about further documentation.

Is there anyone who knows how long it takes for applications to be processed from Afghanistan?

I checked on department's website it says it will take upto 12 months.

Your replies are much appreciated.

Best,
MM:confused:

·
Premium Member
9,033 Posts
If your wife is also from Afghanistan, 12 months might actually be optimistic. You could be waiting even longer than that, unfortunately. It's the security checks that hold up the process for people from countries considered very high-risk.

·
Super Moderator
11,215 Posts
I agree with CG. There was another applicant that applied through dubai and they didn't get contacted until maybe 9 months when they were interviewed.

I imagine your wife would be looking at 12-18 months.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi,

Thanks for your responses.

Yes, my wife is from Afghanistan. But we have submitted the Police clearance together with the application. Plus, Afghan women don't even venture out of the houses most of the time. So I imagine the decision makers/case officers would know that if anything, Afghan women would be the last to get involved in trouble things.

Is it a good idea for me to submit pictures of me with my wife and our four children as we met in India (she didn't have visa to come to Australia and I cant go to Afghanistan), so we met in India a month after we lodged our application. We missed eachother as I have been away from them for about a year.