Australia Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 309 visa was granted yesterday and I am over the moon about it! I wanted to say a big thanks to everyone who helped answer my questions whenever I had a freak out moment and I wanted to share what we did for our application as it was a bit "unusual" in hopes it might help someone. I am by no means an expert and I understand the outcome depends on where the visa is being processed and how the CO will assess the application so what works for us might not work for you, but it might help with some reassurance which is mostly what I looked for in these forums after we applied!

Me- Applicant, Mexican citizen currently living and working in China for the last 7 years
Sponsor- Australian citizen, second time sponsoring

Started reading and researching about the Partner 309 visa in August 2017 and didn't feel ready to apply until 8 months later. Applied ourselves for 309 April 22, 2018, no agent. Medical submitted in May and Police checks in June. Visa was processed in Guangzhou, China and first entry is until September.
Previously held 2 tourist visas, after applying for 309 was granted a 3rd tourist visa.

Applied as de facto when sponsor moved to China starting August 2016 and have been living apart since December 2017.

The evidence we had:
- TONS of photos. We love traveling and do so often even while apart we made it a point to meet up every 2-3 months. We submitted big files of photos and organized them by country we had traveled to or occasion like Christmas 2016, etc. Also had photos of him with my family and me with his family, weddings of friends we attended together, etc,
-Aside from three 888 declarations from the sponsor's side, I had 3 of my friends, non Australian citizens, write and sign statements for us and uploaded alongside a color copy of their passport.