Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

I'm not sure if this is appropriate for this forum, please excuse me if it is not.

I am an Indian and I am almost ready to move to Melbourne, Australia for my Masters of Engineering in Manufacturing Technology from Swinburne University. I am a mechanical engineer with Zero work experience as I have just completed my undergraduate course. I plan to emigrate to Australia as my main motive.

I have a few questions in my mind regarding my future-life in Australia.

1. (as I arrive) How can I manage to get accommodation? how does the rent vary?

2. (as I arrive) What kind of Part-Time job can I secure and in how much time? How much will I get paid weekly (just an average)?

3. Travelling - How is the traffic? Is public transport expensive? Or is it better to have your own vehicle?

4. For how much can I buy a decent car/motorcycle? And what is 'REGO' ?

5. I don't drink, don't smoke. I can cook decent. i like to eat outside most likely. How much will it cost for me with all telephone, electricity, tansport bills + house rent + food?

6. I have chosen advanced manufacturing engineering as my course, can I get a good full time job in the same field in Melbourne or is it most likely that i'll have to move to some other place? And how much will I earn?

7. After I get a permanent job completing my masters, how much money and time does the immigration process take?

8. I am a Muslim, is there any kind of racism regarding religion?

Thanks for taking out time and reading my long long questions, I will be very thankful if anyone can help me with their experiences and knowledge!

Cheers!

·
Registered
31 Posts
Old Post. By now, I believe you might be experiencing things all by yourself. :D
Well, here's the answer to some of your queries based on my knowledge (Other experienced folks, please correct me for my knowledge):