Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I am a newly qualified Social Worker from the UK and am planning on flying out to Sydney towards the end of April with my girlfriend - she is Australian and we met in the UK while she was over on a Working Holiday Visa.

My current plan is to submit my AASW application by the end of this month and I hope to hear back from the AASW around 2 months after I arrive. I will be flying out on a Working Holiday Visa and would ideally like to work in a SW or SW related job while on my WH visa but understand this might be tricky with the visa I'm on due to the 6 month employment resitriction - even if I am eligible to apply for AASW membership.

Because of this I am keen to apply for a longer term visa as soon as I can but am unsure about whether it would be best to apply for a skilled visa or partner visa? My understanding is that once I have applied for a partner visa, the 6 month employment will cease once my WH holiday visa has expired. However, as mentioned above, my worry is that I might not be able to find relevant work until the WH visa has expired.

As I would have already completed an assessment with the AASW I am wondering if it would be best for me to apply for a skilled visa instead? My thinking is that it may be processed more quickly than the partner visa and won't have travel restrictions in place which you have while waiting for the partner visa to be approved.

As a newly qualified SW I have under 3 years post qualifying experience, so would sit the IELTS exam to obtain the extra points. If I was to apply for the skilled visa, I am also wondering if it would be best / advisable for me to complete the IELTS exam while in the UK or whether I could complete the exam when I arrive in Aus?