Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear all,

My name is Popescu Mircea and I am a Romanian citizen currently in Australia.
I really need your help with my situation as so far I have received many conflictual advices and I am not sure about anything anymore.
My intention is to obtain PR in Australia as an Early Childhood Teacher or Secondary School Teacher.

I have an Bachelor Degree in Political Science from West University of Timisoara. So far I thought this degree is not very useful when it comes to migration, but recently I discovered that AITSL may be a good option for me.

After I read their booklet I understand that in order to get a positive skill assessment I need to have 4 years of higher education, but not necessarily 4 years of higher education in teaching.

Total education should be four years – this can be made of a 3 year bachelors degree (non-teaching may also suffice) PLUS a 1 year formal teaching certificate which gives full teaching licence in that country. Or, an applicant could have done a 4 year bachelors of education schools teaching degree.

I know about the 45 days supervised teaching practice and the language requirements.

My first big question is:
Given the fact that I already have a 3 years bachelor degree (although not related to education), I intend to study a Graduate Diploma in Education (1 year) in Australia. Would this be enough to pass the Education Requirement with AITSL? I contacted a university, but they told me that GDE will not allow me to teach in Australia and I need to follow a Master of Teaching. I know that teaching and getting a positive assessment from AITSL are 2 different things, but their answer confused me even more. I dont want to waste time and money for a GDE which wont help me to migrate.

My second big question is: