Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

My wife is being granted a VISA subclass 573 to commence a 2-year Masters By Coursework in a Melbourne university. I have just a couple of questions:

1. Could I apply to the skilled work process (VISA 175/176) onshore? I'll own an unlimited work VISA as her dependent.

2. I own a BS in Computer Science, my occupation is in high demand and ACS (Australian Computer Society) is validating my documentation/experience. So, is the VISA 175/176 onshore application faster than the offshore process for high demanded occupations?

Thank you very much!

·
Registered
7,467 Posts
wrp,
It's two separate issues you're looking at;
1. To be included on your wifes visa as a partner, you generally need to be listed as such before the visa is granted, so I'd have a close look under the eligibility section for the visa on the Immi site and there should be a reference to that.

If you do not get included on her visa you would have to apply either for a separate partner visa you'll find details for in Family section under migration on the web site or you apply for a 175/176 as you're considering.

Coming asa partner to your wife with her on a student visa will mean you have restricted work hours, the same as your wife, 20 hrs./week. during study times and unlimited in between study.

It'll be the same in applying for a separate partner visa but in applying for a 175/176, you then have PR and unlimited work options, it being possible to also include your wife too and as soon as you get PR, her study fees will be a lot less.

Only issue is that in doing separate visa applications, it can take quite a while, a year or more with 175/176.
Have a look @ http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/pdf/faq-priority-processing.pdf