Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good afternoon,

I am a 29-year-old Canadian plumber. I began my apprenticeship in June 2013 here in Nova Scotia, Canada. In June 2017, after my interprovincial exam, I will be a fully qualified "Red Seal" plumber.

My goal is to move to Australia permanently. My partner (29 British citizen, Canadian PR) and I met there on Working Holiday Visas in 2010 and it has been our life aim ever since our 2nd year WHV expired over 5years ago.

We are looking for a migration agent that can help us with this.

Originally we thought that we would wait until I had three years post trade experience and then apply for a 189 skilled independent visa and in the meantime look for sponsorship and apply for a 457 visa and see what came first.

With the recent changes to the 189 and the 457 we realised now that a 189 is no longer possible and that we would have to go down the path of the 457 only. i think!

I have reached out to the MARA agents in Canada (all 6 of them) to see if they can assist. Are any of you using a MARA in Canada? Or an immigration lawyer? Can you recommend anyone?

·
Registered
7,019 Posts
There are about 6 that regularly post on this forum, they have contact info in their signature below the comment.

They are all recommended by many on here, I have personally used 2 of them.

·
Registered
6,597 Posts
With the recent changes to the 189 and the 457 we realised now that a 189 is no longer possible and that we would have to go down the path of the 457 only. i think!
Why is that ? Plumber is still on both the new skills lists.

·
Registered
257 Posts
No advice, but hello fellow Nova Scotian!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Why is that ? Plumber is still on both the new skills lists.