Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Short History:
I graduated at PhD level from the Melbourne University in September 2017. Thus, I applied for 190 subclass Visa, and I was invited within two weeks. Therefore, I lodged my 190 skill visa application in early October 2017. My case officer contacted me in late November and requested my PhD certificate/transcript/completion letter which I have provided those immediately. Since then, I haven’t received any update from immigration department or my CF. However, all my peers have received their PR within 2-3 months. My student VISA is yet valid until late July 2018, and I have granted a Bridging A visa after lodging my PR application.

Okay about my question:
I found that employers are not willing to offer me a job just because of my VISA circumstances (despite the fact that I have an unlimited work permit). I’m looking to apply for a Graduate Temporally Visa in the meantime, to be able to receive a job offer. Usually, our students are granted GT within 2 weeks. However, I’m not entirely sure if applying a Graduate Temporally Visa (post-study) effects my 190 skill visa application or there is any conflict that I’m not aware?

Thus, considering having a 190-skill visa application, which is currently lodged, can I lodge a post-study temporally graduate visa?

Note-I know if my PR gets granted before GT I must withdraw my application ASAP.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It looks as if the department will grant you PR shortly. I don't see any point in applying for a 485. The processing time on these visas is several months anyway, so you would be in the same position you are now.
Thanks Jeremy for the comment. I actually check this today with immigration after being on hold for two hours. Apparently, there is not conflict and I'm able to apply for 485 visa while having a 190 as an ongoing application.