Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My partner will be pursuing her masters degree in Australia starting in February. She will be applying for a 500 visa shortly. I would like to accompany and financially support her so I set out to find work with an employer that would be willing to sponsor me.

I've received an offer from an employer that sponsors international applications regularly. I believe them to be an approved business sponsor and the position to have been successfully nominated many times before. I am an IT consultant with a degree in Computer Science.

My goal is to be able to start work within the next 2-3 months. Based on my research, I have come up with three potential options:

1. Apply for a 457 while in Canada and hope for a speedy processing time

2. Apply as a de facto partner on the 500 visa - this can be difficult as we do not have very much evidence of co-habitation, most everything is in my name

3. Apply for a 417 Working Holiday visa, and then lodge the application for a 457 on shore in Australia. Will this allow me to legally work for 6 months while waiting on the outcome of the 457?

I'm not sure if there are other options, but this is what I've come up with so far.

Thanks in advance!

·
Super Moderator
5,245 Posts
A migration agent can assess better to see what other options you may have, and to discuss what's the best strategy.

But essentially, #3 will allow you to work for the employer while waiting onshore for the 457. Both you and your partner should make sure to mention each other in your applications as this helps establish the relationship history, even if you don't include each other as de facto dependents.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies. I will most definitely consult an RMA - I have an appointment set up for this week. I am just trying to do as much research as possible ahead of time.