Australia Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi my husband and i have been married for 9 months, we applied for a defacto/spouse visa about 11 months ago...we had only been living together 6 months at that time...today we recieved an email stating "Since you do not meet the criteria on de-facto grounds at time of application, you have the option of withdrawing the application, by 21 August 2012, or if you have any compelling or compassionate reasons as to why this requirement should be waived, then please give reasons in writing by 21 August 2012. " What should we do, my husband is now a stepfather to my children is that compassionate grounds...or should we withdraw the visa and apply again...pls help

·
Registered
112 Posts
I am not an expert on visas, but I would recommend that you do not claim that your husband being a stepfather is a compassionate reason for approving your application.. I think you need to find compelling or passionate reasons that existed at or before the time that you applied for the visa because anything that has happened since then is irrelevant to your application, including your marriage.... If you are unable to provide compelling or compassionate reasons, then I would recommend that you withdraw your application and apply for another visa in the future. It's better if your application is withdrawn than if it's denied.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Hi,

Clarify something. You applied for the visa 11 months ago, but you legally married only 9 months ago. That means you signed the marriage certificate after applying for the visa, correct?

Did you update DIAC about your new marriage status by including the certificate to your application? If not, you should have done it. Because DIAC takes decisions based on the available documentation. Newly married couple do not require a 12 months cohabitation.