Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I have a 3 year ban for overstaying last year. After renewing my passport this summer, I received a new passport with a new number.

From a pure technical standpoint, will they be able to tie my old passport to the new one, and as a result, deny my ETA if I applied again with the new passport?

·
Registered
814 Posts
I'm not an expert on this, but I think it's possible the ETA would be granted, however if you tried to actually enter the country on said ETA it would more than likely get picked up at the border and your 3 year ban will be restarted again, from the date you attempt to enter.

I saw an episode of Border Security Australia recently where someone from Korea who had a 3 year ban changed his name and got a new passport in his new name (therefore passport number and name were both different), tried to enter and got stopped at the border because they picked up he was trying to get around the 3 year ban. He had his visa cancelled and sent back to Korea.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm not an expert on this, but I think it's possible the ETA would be granted, however if you tried to actually enter the country on said ETA it would more than likely get picked up at the border and your 3 year ban will be restarted again, from the date you attempt to enter.

I saw an episode of Border Security Australia recently where someone from Korea who had a 3 year ban changed his name and got a new passport in his new name (therefore passport number and name were both different), tried to enter and got stopped at the border because they picked up he was trying to get around the 3 year ban. He had his visa cancelled and sent back to Korea.
Thanks for the response. This is actually very interesting. I wonder how they found that out, but it's probably likely that they verified the passport holder's history with the Korean authorities maybe?