Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am a software developer having Australian PR and planning to move to Australia. I come to know in Australia November, December and January are not good for finding jobs (permanent and contact) because of year end and Christmas, so I should plan in February end.

Can you please guide me about this ? In these months jobs are hard or very rare to find ?

Thanks

·
Registered
21 Posts
Dear Haansi,

The impression I get is that things slow down almost to a halt during the Christmas period. I heard that it is generally quiet in December and January and that the job market will usually pick up after that.

Anyway, it`s still my first year here. I arrived in June and am still looking for work.

Good Luck!

Rgds,
Hock Siew :)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dear Haansi,

The impression I get is that things slow down almost to a halt during the Christmas period. I heard that it is generally quiet in December and January and that the job market will usually pick up after that.

Anyway, it`s still my first year here. I arrived in June and am still looking for work.

Good Luck!

Rgds,
Hock Siew :)
Thanks Hock Siew :),

Can you please guide in which city are you living ? is this situation same for all the cities ?

Thanks again.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Dear Haansi,

I`m in Melbourne but I think it`s generally true of most areas. However, it may vary from industry to industry. I have a background in manufacturing. Not sure if there is anyone else in this forum who works in IT who can help.

Rgds,
Hock Siew

·
Registered
146 Posts
I agree with Hock Slew it does slow down greatly with Australia pretty much closing in January in regards to work. It's vacation time.
I was an Accountant in Sydney so it's not industry or area specific.

·
Registered
5 Posts