Australia Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks. PR visa granted under GSM. Ideally wanting to secure employment before making the move. For obvious reasons with 2 small children. What are peoples' experiences of this? I work in the construction industry doing CAD and building alterations. I'm searching and making applications but it feels difficult.

·
Registered
58 Posts
truebluejim said:
Hi Folks. PR visa granted under GSM. Ideally wanting to secure employment before making the move. For obvious reasons with 2 small children. What are peoples' experiences of this? I work in the construction industry doing CAD and building alterations. I'm searching and making applications but it feels difficult.
Gongrats on PR, i am on visa process .

I have the same plan of remotely searching for a job, but it seems difficult . Maybe you need to travel for 1 - 2 month for the job search .

·
Registered
332 Posts
I'm in construction industry too work as quantity surveyor.
I have some friends working there and advising us to actually move overthere and apply instead of apply offshore. Employers would prefer see you in person.
I'm worried as you coz i'd never unemploy all this while. If you ask me to resign and move over, it really need lots of courage. If not, we shall all work in casual.
Honestly, all of us don't want to work which is out of our profession.;)

·
Registered
833 Posts
The date is linked to expiration of your medical and police checks (whatever comes first). So if your police checks or medicals expire in 3 months you'll have three months to do initial entry. If they expire in 12 months you will have 12 months for entry.
For UK/Germany/Canada it is medical expiration as DIAC has direct access to their national police systems and would be notified should applicant do something unlawful.

This is not an immigration advice

·
Registered
332 Posts