Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am an international student in South Australia and just finished my 2 years course in Adelaide. I want to apply for 190 visa and having 60 points is enough to qualify for this visa.

In my EOI, I claim 5 points for Australian study requirement, but I do not want to claim 5 points for regional area requirement as I already have 65 points even without it. The reason I do not want to claim this 5 points is that I do not have all rental contracts to support the claim.

In the EOI, the question is "Has the client studied for at least two years in one or more areas in regional Australia or a low population growth metropolitan area?". I have answered "No" so that the system does not award me 5 points. But I actually did study for 2 years in South Australia and the true answer should be "Yes".

Is that a problem? Would DIBP accept this declaration?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would correct it...

You should answer all questions in regard to immigration truthfully. Never purposely say no to a question where the answer is yes.
Thanks Mania,

But the thing is I do not have rental contracts or enough evidence to claim the regional study points. And I also do not need these 5 points to qualify for the visa. I have seen many people mark their work experience as not relevant although they are relevant so that no points awarded for working experience.

What I am worried is that the answer should be Yes but I answered No as I do not have enough evidence to claim for it.

·
Super Moderator
5,266 Posts
I've never heard of anyone having an issue with underclaiming points. However you may find you need additional points to receive an invitation given the amount of competition there is for the limited number of available invitations.

·
Premium Member
11,215 Posts