Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys!

I'm 23, from the UK, my partner is 24, from Australia, and we have been together for about 2 years, both living in Australia since July 2016. We applied for the first stage of the defacto partner visa in July 2017 onshore.

My partner has just accepted a 12 month job starting in late January 2018, and I've been working casually wherever I can as the visa situation kind of puts your career on hold slightly (or beginning your career in my case - I have a degree in Psychology but the vast majority of careers in that field require further study, which I can't afford at the international fee rate - I think this becomes domestic when/if I'm granted permanent residency). However, I have recently received a fantastic opportunity for a paid Psyc internship at a company I'm really interested in, in New Zealand for 12 months, starting between May - July 2018 (flexible). My partner and I have discussed this, and whilst we hate the idea of going long distance again, we realise how good an opportunity it is and how frustrating it is to be in this limbo state for so long.

Obviously, this brings up a few issues with the application process. I don't think ours is a complicated application, we fit all the requirements and have (hopefully) submitted enough documentation. With the current wait time for visas, is it worth pursuing this opportunity? I understand you have to be onshore when you receive the visa grant, can this be arranged with your case officer/DIBP so that I can come onshore from NZ for it to be granted? Would I be able to leave, work and come back and forth for that long on a BVB?