1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

First post!
:D
I am a mining professional , living in Australia since 2004 as resident !

I applied for citizenship back in 2009 ,which was later approved and I meant to attend the ceremony when few bad things happened in my life(mom was ill and I had an accident) and I forced to stay overseas with family.

So I asked the DIAC to withdraw in hoping to re-enter when I return; Then in my return in 2012 I was told that MY APPLICATION has been "canceled "and I shall wait again 4 years,since then mom situation got worsen and now she need 24 HRS care so I am traveling in and out just to save my PR return visa ,every few months.

Would My application of citizenship will go through if I apply now? I have only spent few months each year in the Oz(between 3- 7 months)lets say 20+ months in 4 years?
Should I give it a go?

Cheers

Thank you in the advance,

·
Registered
7 Posts
There is temporary and permanent residency but you meet the qualifications to have those visa residency. You better consult a migration agent to not letting your visa rejected.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Does not seem like you can qualify for citizenship at the moment - it does not seem you are currently living in Australia even now.
Hi Ampk,

Sorry I forgot to mention, I am Permanent resident since 2006,I quit my job in mining at the end of last year just because the issues I have brought up earlier...recently I am paying a relative to look after my mother overseas, and living rentals in Brisbane in the last 14 years (just have to go back and forth every time things screw up) like a boomerang :D:D

Thanks for your time:)

·
Premium Member
10,520 Posts
Not you don't qualify at the moment. It needs to be no more than 12 months out of the country in the last 4 years and no more than 3 months (90 days) in the 12 months before you apply.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·