Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I am from Sri Lanka and got my Aussie PR September 2013. I am planning to migrate to Australia immediately and looking forward for your valuable comments for following queries?

My first pick is Sydney as I have observed that a basic job search would yield many vacancies in Sydney than other areas.

JOBS
I am a civil engineer (degree holder) by profession and carries 5 years experience with me, but willing to engage in any job initially (due to financial constrains). What are my chances of getting a job at any caliber at my arrival to Australia? Can I apply for jobs before moving to Aussie? Are there any chances that I might be selected (or atleast shortlisted for interviews) to a job without I am being physically there?

ACCOMODATION

What is the best method to sought accommodation in Australia? what is the cheapest method of accommodation? What sort of cost would be involved with accommodation?

COST OF LIVING

If I am moving to Australia without a job in hand, and expecting to survive until I find an employment, more than thinking of a lifestyle how much of money do you think I should carry with me? Suppose that lady luck doesn't have anything too bad against me, do you think I can start my life in Aussie with 3000 AUD

To be honest I am not financially stable and I hope my migration process will not drain me out! Can somebody please help me with my queries?

Thanks and best regards

·
Registered
47 Posts
Wow 3k is very little to start out especially in Sydney. I don't think it's going to be enough.

I think the cheapest accommodation for you might be a hostel, taking the dormitory option where there could be like 10-12 beds. Just search for them online.

Once you've landed, you could check Gumtree for shared accommodation. No use in checking Gumtree from outside Australia, the site blocks out everything so your messages will never go through.