Australia Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello! I am an American moving to Oz with my partner who is an AU citizen. We are flying out on the 16th... just a few days away(!). I wanted to know what are some essentials that I should absolutely buy here and take with me... and also what are the top 10-15 things you think would be most important to take. So far I have packed clothing, a few photos, a few travel books, computer, ipod, art supplies... (I am a painter). Also.. we are shipping our cat and dog over.. Is there anything that would be worth packing or buying for them here that will be more expensive over there?? Thanks! Cheers :D

·
Registered
31 Posts
Hi

A difficult one. I found buying white goods - fridge, washing machine, vacuum cleaner very expensive here and I had all of these at home in the UK.

Yes for me being girly it was definitely Hair products, hairdryers, hair serums and all of that stuff. I can get stuff so so cheap and with a lot more choice in London. That also applies to my computer stuff.

·
Registered
7,467 Posts
I imagine that just about anything you would use in the US will be available in Oz, even if food tastes of some states over there like the love of all that southern fried gunk and gumbo etc. are a little different and our pricing here will be too.

Actually, on that note I reckon if eBay is any example of how cheap you can buy a decent size low mileage and not too old a motorhome, I'd be considering buying one if you have the $$$ for even with costs of shipping and LHD to RHD conversion there could still be a $$$$ to be made and same with Harleys.

And with eBay, there is so much online shopping possible these days and no GST up to $1000 even our local retailers are whinging because more and more people are buying stuff online.