Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,
I have been following this forum for a while and appreciate the available shares by everyone.

Moderators please forgive me if I broke any rules by posting it here.

And this is my query about 2-year Australia study. I am planning to apply for 189 visa but confused about 5 points for 2-year Australian education. All of my listed awards are earned in Australia and delivered and assessed in English.

Firstly, I have a Master degree with registered CRICOS of 104 weeks from 20 July 2015 to 13 January 2017. My Master award stated that the course is equal to 96 units and 2-year study. I received the exemption of 24 units towards my previous bachelor degree in my home country. I am required to finish the degree by 60 units and are equal to 60/96*104= 65 weeks.

Secondly, from 11 July 2016 to 23 December 2016 (my last semester with Master degree), I earned the Diploma of Interpreting with registered CRICOS of 30 weeks.

So my study is 95 weeks in total and some agents said I can claim 5 points as satisfying the below requirements:
be registered through the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Course for Overseas Students (CRICOS)
have been completed in a total of at least 16 calendar months
have been completed as a result of at least two academic years of study
have given all instruction in English
have been completed while you were physically in Australia
have been completed while you held a visa authorising you to study in Australia.

But some said no due to the extended breakdown here
homeaffairs.gov.au/Trav/Work/Work/Allocation-dates-for-General-Skilled-Migration-applications/2-year-study#study

If you fall short of the 92 weeks of study due to exemptions you have received, you have several options to meet the Australian study requirement. Options could include: