Australia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 136 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wanted to start a thread to see the timeline of others who have applied from China for a 309 visa. I've seen a thread for Korea and Japan but nothing from China. I submitted my application April 22nd and did medical on May 9th. Already submitted China police check and waiting on FBI since I lived in the US for 4 years, and Mexico, since I'm a Mexican citizen. I haven't been assigned a CO so I'm not sure if my visa will be processed in China as i'm a resident there or in Canada because they deal with Mexican visa applications. I'm about 3 months in. Anyone else applied from China that can share their timeline? :)

·
Registered
47 Posts
hey, I can give a timeline of my wife's 309 and one of my friend's 309 application which were processed in China.

If you are currently residing in China, I assume you hold a Chinese Z visa providing your work permit and resident permit of China to the DHA, your application should be processed in China. And based on the province you reside, your application would be allocated to either Australian Consulate in Shanghai, or in Beijing, in Chengdu or in Guanzhou.

Timeline for my wife's 309/100 application:
Date of lodgement: 07/11/2015 (online by myself)
Date of 309 Grant: 22/04/2016
Processing consulate: Shanghai
Current status: 100 stage applied, awaiting decision

My friend's 309/100 application:
Date of lodgement: 29/06/2016 (paper via agent)
Date of 309 Grant: 03/02/2017
Processing consulate: Guangzhou
Current status: 100 stage applied, awaitng decision

Now the official processing time for 309 stage on DHA website is 75% finalised in 21 months and 90% finalised in 26 months. I think this is just indicative. However, I am in a Chinese 309/100 application wechat group, most of the applications (lodged by end of 2017) are still getting granted within 12 months or less.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·