Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
G'day peeps.

I am writing this post to provide all of you people with some information on my case. I've seen a lot of posts here started with people asking questions on how to do things but no one followed up with the results of their visa process. I am trying to help everyone looking for some information or peace of mind with my story and things that I did to get approved in the process.

My story and current situation

I came into Australia on a WHV 417. After about 4 months I got contracted by a Development firm as I am a software engineer. After my initial contract of 6 months ran out they decided they wanted to keep me on. So they started the process to sponsor me for a 482, which immigration declined as I was already contracted there. We went to the AAT(Administrative appeals tribunal) with the application and I continued working past my WHV on a BVA, the 6 months condition was waived.

4 months into my BVA the company ran out of cash flow and laid everyone off. This meant that I had no means of applying for a new visa in Australia since I had no substantiate visa.

My migration agent advised me to go for a 461 visa with my NZ partner. To do this I had to withdraw the AAT application and go to NZ to apply for a substantiate tourist visa, hope that I get a 651 visa approved, and fly back into Australia to start the process of applying for the 461 and waiving the "Business visitor" condition on my BVA (No work).

Currently I am on the 461 waiting list with my BVA approved and had the "no work" condition removed due to hardship reasons.

Now, what are the things that I've learned during this process that might put some of you at ease.
Note: I am not a registered migration agent so don't take my words as legal advice. They are just my experiences and what worked for me.

Getting the tourist visa

1. Apply for BVB before you hop the pond