Australia Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All. I'm new to this and currently navigating our way through the Partner visa (subclass 820 and 801). I am an Australian resident and my partner from China, she is currently here on a visitor visa which runs out in October this year (Approx 7 months). She also has her daughter who we have enrolled in school, her 3 months education allowance runs out at the end of this school term (End of March). We will be married on March 19, a little over a week. Then I'm hoping we can apply for the 820/801. My questions are:
I was told by the Dept that my partners visitor visa must first expire before the temp 820 visa can take affect. Is this correct?
How long does the temporary visa take to be granted once the application is lodged?
Or can we get a bridging visa in the meantime or is this also linked to the travel visa finishing first?
We want her daughter to remain at school, so not sure what path to take there. Should or can we apply for a student visa and if so does she also have to wait for the 12 month travel visa to expire?
Could a bridging visa also help with the student situation?
In the meantime we also have the issue of them having to leave the country every 3 months.
It all seems like a bit of a minefield so just looking for the best way through.
Thanks in advance for any advice, it will be much appreciated.
Wayne

·
Registered
4,534 Posts
What is the stay period for the visitor visa? So even if the visa is valid for a year, it can come with a stay period of say 3 months or 12 months or whatever.

·
Registered
7,023 Posts
Answers when you see **