Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

(I've already posted this in Mark's pinned thread, but just in case he's too busy I'd like to re-post here if that's ok. If I'm breaking any rules please call me out since this is my first time posting on a forum!)

My question is quite simple, but for some reason it's really difficult navigating the DIBP's website.

My situation:

I'm currently on the 1st stage of applying for the 820 Partner Visa, but I'm the 2nd person my partner has sponsored. His ex-girlfriend was sponsored successfully around 7-9 years ago, back when it was a paper application. The problem is that both of them don't have any clue as to when the visa was granted or any reference number that they might have received (details asked in the application I'm working on now). Unfortunately she shredded all the documentation when she became an Australian citizen.

Do you know who I (or my partner's ex-girlfriend) can contact to find this old, inactive visa information? I've tried calling, filling out different enquiry forms, but no luck.

Thank you very much!

·
Premium Member
6,612 Posts
Both parties can do a FOI request to retrieve information about the previous applications. Because the request will involve a third party (their ex-partner) the information provided to each party will be very limited, as all information relating to the other party cannot not be disclosed.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Both parties can do a FOI request to retrieve information about the previous applications. Because the request will involve a third party (their ex-partner) the information provided to each party will be very limited, as all information relating to the other party cannot not be disclosed.
Hi CCMS,

Thanks for the advice. If the ex-partner were to look for her own old visa records, she wouldn't need an FOI request right? Would you know who she can talk to instead?

·