Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am a 33 year old woman, never married and no dependents. I have two professions in which I'm qualified and practicing.

I am a qualified Lawyer and enrolled as an Advocate of the High Courts in Pakistan. I have a five year joint BA-LLB degree from my country's best law school, and an MSc Human Rights from the London School of Economics. I have 5 years relevant PQE. So one option is to apply as a barrister. However, that process seems very long due to the bar transfer requirements.

I am also a licensed psychotherapist/counsellor and have completed my diploma with CPCAB(UK) to level IV, I am currently enrolled in a level V diploma (independent practice) which ends in June. I have completed 100 training hours, as well as 400 client hours of one to one therapy and 100 hours of group therapy.

I took the IELTS exam and got an 8.0 overall. My score is 8.5 in listening, 9.0 in reading, 8.5 in speaking and 6.0 in writing. Not quite sure why the writing score was so low. I have evidence of a high writing ability in the form of research papers, Supreme Court petitions etc. My score in my GCE English language was 96%. I have distinctions in my academic papers from my most recent diplomas with CPCAB, the papers were marked in the UK. However, if I must I can bite the proverbial bullet and subject myself to another exam.

I am wondering what might be the easiest route for me.

Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
6,225 Posts
To satisfy the criteria for the mandatory pre-migration skills assessment as a psychotherapist you would need a highly relevant qualification, assessed as comparable to an Australian degree, From what you posted psychotherapist is not an option.

May I suggest that you consult one of the registered migration agents who posts a on this forum (they are all OK) for advice about your possible options?.

·
Registered
179 Posts