Australia Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all, I am currently trying to work towards stay here in Australia permanently. My currently situation is:
I am currently studying at a TAFE school registered to study for 2 full years, Certificate IV in Commercial Cookery -> Diploma of Hospitality Management.
My school offers another track where I can study 2 full years for Certificate IV in Commercial Cookery and Certificate IV in Patisserie.
I'm a bit hesitant about studying Diploma because it's all management classes that I have already studied before in my University days (already completed a Bachelor of Business Administrations) and I think it would be more beneficial for me to study Patisserie as well to equip myself for the industry.

My question is this:
I've been reading up on 485 Temporary Graduate visa and 489 Skilled Regional state sponsor visa.
485 requires 2 full years of study in a CRICOS-registered course and it says, "have completed one or more degrees, diplomas or trade qualifications". Does Certificate IV in Commercial Cookery qualify as a trade qualification or do I need to obtain a Diploma in order to be recognised?
Same situation for 489. It also mentions as long as I have a trade qualification as a minimum, but do I really need to study Diploma?

Would I be better off holding a Diploma of Hospitality Management in the Australian industry for better job opportunities? Will I be able to work towards permanent residency holding a Certificate IV only?

The skill occupation that I want working towards is Chef which is level 2 position that requires to be a supervisory position "plans and organises the preparation and cooking of food in a dining or catering establishment." and not just cook and serve.

Thank you.

·
Registered
3,340 Posts