Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am an Australian- trained Occupational Therapist (OT) and my 485 visa application was refused in March due to the reason of not satisfying with 485.223 which specify:

When the application was made, it was accompanied by evidence that the applicant had applied for an assessment of the applicant’s skills for the nominated skilled occupation by a relevant assessing authority.

I was confused whether my professional registration would be counted as the Skills Assessment because the registration standards are fairly similar to the requirements of the skills assessment. As such, I answered "NO" to the question regarding whether I have applied for a Skills Assessment but the system still let me through and directed me to the skills assessment section to give further details. I found an option called "Council of Occupational Therapist Registration Board Inc" and I thought that was referring to the OT registration board under AHPRA. As a result, I selected that and provided details extracted from the AHPRA receipt. I also uploaded the AHPRA receipt as evidence. In ealy Feb, the Department corresponded me and gave me 28 days to provide the skills assessment but it did not mentioned that the registration I applied did not count as the skills assessment.

I rang the Immigration Department and the lady was still unable to confirm if I need to do the skills assessment while I am a registered OT and advised me to e-mail the processing officers directly. Unfortunately, I did not have any response from the Department. In mid-Feb, I uploaded my registration certificate up to the system and notified the Department.