Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I would be grateful if anyone could help me by answering a few questions that I have regarding the Partner Visa.

Background

My name is Mawar and I am an Australian Permanent Resident. I was granted my PR in July 2011, and have entered Australia many times since then but I am still based in Malaysia.

I married my husband, a Malaysian citizen, on 22nd September 2012. We are planning to lodge a partner visa application (Subclass 309) for him as soon as possible. The only thing pending at the moment is his character check from the police. I was made to understand that this could take any time between 1-2 months. It has been 1 month since the application for certificate of good conduct from the ministry of foreign affairs.

We plan to relocate to Australia for good by the middle of 2013.

Questions

1. I am currently 2 months pregnant (yay!) and I am planning to go back to Australia permanently soon, where I prefer to deliver our child. Should I leave for Australia before my husband's temporary visa application has been processed, can my husband also go to Australia with me on a tourist visa? I do not want to deliver and spend post-delivery without my husband, as he would have to take care of me.

2. How long would it take for his temporary visa to be approved (should it be approved) from the time that we eventually lodge the subclass 309 application? Alternatively, how long would it take for him to be called for an interview regarding the application?

3. Does my husband have to be in Malaysia, the place where he would lodge the application, for it to be approved and/or for him to be called for an interview?

4. In any event, can the application approval process be expedited in view that I am pregnant, will be returning to Australia to deliver my baby, and will need my husband to look after me?