Australia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a permanent resident of Australia since 1976. Unable to return to Australia during the lockdown.
My RRV expired in April 2021, found out at the airport in December when trying to fly back to Australia.
Submitted a new request for the return visa to Australia on 16 December, but haven't had any message from immigration aside from the automatic reply acknowledging the application and the payment.
Has anyone else had experience with getting the RRV while offshore?
Not sure if I should engage an immigration lawyer.

·
Premium Member
1,605 Posts
If you don’t meet the residence requirement of 2 years in the previous 5, offshore RRV processing generally takes 8-12 weeks so you are well within that at the moment.

·
Registered
7,246 Posts
the only information I've seen on home affairs website is 75% are finalized in one day, and 90% are finalized in 51days.
The problem is the 10% that are finalised in over 51 days.. Some of them well over.

Most applications probably have the required residence requirements and are eligible for an automatic fast grant.

·
Premium Member
1,605 Posts
Thanks Paul, the only information I've seen on home affairs website is 75% are finalized in one day, and 90% are finalized in 51days.
As the website says: “Generally, applications that meet the residence requirements will be processed within 5 working days from lodgement. Applications that do not meet the residence requirement will take longer to finalise, as published here.”

More than 80% of applications meet the objective residence requirement and are generally auto-granted immediately. Many onshore applications are also finalised fairly swiftly.

If you meet the residence requirement for this application, then there is an issue that should be followed up, otherwise I’d give it a few more weeks.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·