Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

First off, thank you for this great forum. I spent most of this week reading other peoples threads and learning about their experiences.

My situation is:
I'm in the process of applying for a skilled migration visa 189. I did the IELTS last saturday and right now I started with my skilled assessment. I'm considering to apply as a construction project manager but I'm still unsure. I don't want to get a negative response from Vetassess.

My background is:
Male - 32 years, Swedish citizen

Education - Bachelor of Science with a major in Construction Engineering

Work experience -
4,5 years - Construction Engineer, Company A
9 months - Construction Surveyor, Company B
6 months - Construction Surveyor, internship, Company C

I'm not sure if my work experience is enough to be granted 10 points for five years of oversee employment.

I have considered to apply for other occupations such as Engineering manager, Quantity Surveyor, Civil engineer draftsperson or Civil engineer technician but I'm not sure if I qualify for them either.

I appreciate all the feedback I can receive!

Best regards
Megamuffin85

·
Super Moderator
5,266 Posts
Probably your best options are to either arrange a consultation with a migration agent so they can review your documents and give you some guidance, or take a chance on the Vetassess assessment to see what outcome they give. I haven't seen many posts on these types of occupations to know what information or experience posters may be able to share.

·
Registered
5,948 Posts

From the skills assessing authority:

Construction Project Manager (ANZSCO Code 133111)
This occupation requires a qualification which is assessed as comparable to the educational level of an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Bachelor degree or higher degree, in a field highly relevant to the nominated occupation.