Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

First off, I apologise if I've done this wrong, I've never used a forum before, but I am in desperate need of help and advice.

I am only eligible for a skilled independent visa subclass 189. However they've just changed the points you need from 60 to 65, and I was already struggling to get 60. I have been trying to get a high enough score on my english test to get 60, with some tutoring from people who know what the test markers want I think I can do it, but that only gives me 60, which apparently is no longer enough.

My question is, does anyone know if I was to get my full electrical licence, would I be eligible to claim the points for having a trade qualification completed in australia?'

I have done my skills assessment as an electrician, which gives me 10 points. I have 30 for being 25 and if I get the highest score on the english test I will have 20 from that. Now I need to do some gap training before I can become fully qualified, but once I complete the gap training, surely that would mean that I have a trade qualification completed in australia? It comes under the qualifications section in the points table and would give me 10 points. The skills assessment also comes under the qualifications section though. Does that mean you only claim one set of points from each section of the points table?

Any help or advice would be so appreciated.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hi,

First off, I apologise if I've done this wrong, I've never used a forum before, but I am in desperate need of help and advice.