Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Just discovered this site and hoping to get some useful information.

Short story. I'm Australian, my husband is American. We'd like to come to Australia for about 6-8 months. Basically my current contract finishes at the end of June 2018 (currently in Bulgaria). I'm planning to take a new contract (outside of Australia) that wouldn't start until Jan/Feb of 2019 (I'm a teacher so this depends on the school I find work at). Ideally we'd like to stay in Australia for those 6-8 months.

The plan would be hang out with family. Do some travelling (my parents have a camper we can borrow and I want to show my husband as much of the country as we can). Maybe I would do some work (supply teaching) but nothing permanent - just a few days if they cross my path to make a little extra cash.

Currently married just under 2 years (will be 2.5 when we come).

Originally I just thought we'd come in with him on a visitor visa subclass 600 and then apply for an extension. And then maybe another extension (can you do that?) But then I came across something that seemed to suggest that we could actually apply for a longer tourist visa (12 months).

Does anyone know (with either visa) if they'd insist on him having a ticket out of Australia at the end? We wouldn't want to buy one because we wouldn't know exactly when we'd be leaving or where we'd be going. Secondly, can anyone tell me, if we did change our minds and want to stay long term is it a problem applying to change the tourist visa to some kind of spouse visa?