Australia Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, or should I say "g'day"? I've had the privilege of spending most of January in Melbourne, and have been offered to rent a new friend's house in Tasmania. My US-based employer, my native country where I'm currently living, is willing to let me work remote once I move. What Visa-related options exist for this scenario? The work/travel option implies working at local Australian jobs. I am a software developer of 11 years who would like to keep the US job if possible. Basically, I'll be earning wages from the States and spending that money in Tassie.

Any ideas?
Thanks,
Brent

·
Registered
7,467 Posts
Hello everyone, or should I say "g'day"? I've had the privilege of spending most of January in Melbourne, and have been offered to rent a new friend's house in Tasmania. My US-based employer, my native country where I'm currently living, is willing to let me work remote once I move. What Visa-related options exist for this scenario? The work/travel option implies working at local Australian jobs. I am a software developer of 11 years who would like to keep the US job if possible. Basically, I'll be earning wages from the States and spending that money in Tassie.

Any ideas?
Thanks,
Brent
Looks like you planning to row a similar boat to Billybob Brent so most of what I've said to him applies - http://www.australiaforum.com/visas-immigration/3649-study-abroad-then-telecommute-work-visa.html , though what visa you're now on, your intent of how long you plan to do this and if needing a visa extension and the need to show means of support could come into it and I suppose you could put it as being on paid leave.